#CLS4 is possible because of the generosity and passion of our Title Sponsor, The McKinney Family Foundation, as well as our Sponsors and Supporters. Thank you!

Screen Shot 2019-08-29 at 9.30.18 PM.png
Screen Shot 2019-09-09 at 7.07.34 PM.png

CLimate Leadership summit 4: September 12, 2019

Goshen College, Goshen, Indiana

We are excited to announce our 4th Climate Leadership Summit will be held in Goshen on September 12, 2019, hosted along with Mayor Jeremy Stutsman of Goshen.

Our Keynote speaker will be Author and Professor, David Orr.

#CLS4 will bring the same relentless focus on bringing city leaders information and tools that can help them in their resiliency efforts. We listened to the feedback from CLS3 and are taking the opportunity this year to focus on water security, flooding, and stormwater through a variety of lenses: policy, management, utilities, and climate. If you are interested in this Summit, please contact

About CLS

 The Climate Leadership Summit is our annual, statewide conference specially designed for mayors, city leaders, and community partners to discuss how to prepare for the changing climate. We focus on mitigation and adaptation through green jobs, renewable energy, public health, sustainable food, water conservation, communication, and youth engagement, among many other important topics. We celebrate the progress Indiana communities have already achieved and give cities the opportunity to share best practices. Check this amazing video about last year’s #CLS3!

Participating Cities 2018:

Angola, Batesville, Bloomington, Carmel, Columbus, Fort Wayne, Indianapolis, Kokomo, Lafayette, Logansport, North Vernon, South Bend, West Lafayette

Participating Cities 2017:

 Indianapolis, South Bend, Fort Wayne, Goshen, Logansport, North Vernon, Whiting, Gary, Kokomo, Crawfordsville, Bloomington, Muncie, Lafayette, Evansville, Angola, West Lafayette, Columbus



In August 2016, we inaugurated this remarkable gathering, the first of its kind, the Climate Leadership Summit. Our founding mayors, Jim Brainard and Joe Stahura, along with Earth Charter Indiana, convened mayors, their delegations, experts, and advocates from across the state for a day of intensive learning. The purpose was simple: to inspire action to create climate resilient communities across the Hoosier State.

We left with a commitment to continue our conversation and find ways to support each other as we move into an era of great uncertainty and opportunity in addressing climate change. Over the past year, that drum beat of solutions-oriented climate action has only gotten louder and we’ve seen some remarkable successes in many of our communities. 


Cities and Mayors

Mayors and cities can bring a delegation of up to six people from their city who represent key stakeholder areas—leaders from faith, business, environment, youth, etc.—who are committed to building a vision of a more resilient Indiana.

Climate Leadership Summit 2, in 2017, was co-hosted by 7 Hoosier Mayors: 

  • Mayor Todd Barton, Crawfordsville

  • Mayor Jim Brainard, Carmel

  • Mayor Greg Goodnight, Kokomo

  • Mayor Karen Freeman-Wilson, Gary

  • Mayor Joe Hogsett, Indianapolis

  • Mayor Dave Kitchell, Logansport

  • Mayor Joe Stahura, Whiting


Community Partners

We are grateful to our sponsors and community partners who made this important event possible. If your organization would be interested in getting involved, please contact us.

Our CLS3 Sponsors were: 

Our Supporters are:

Presenters: Dr. Jeff Dukes, PCCRC; Janet McCabe, IU Environmental Resilience Institute; Therese Dorau, City of South Bend Director of Sustainability; and Kumar Menon, City of Fort Wayne Utilities.